Teacher Recognition

Above and Beyond Awards

Nancy Williams and Kamisha Polk

The Academic Booster Club is the proud sponsor of the teacher/counselor recognition program - Above and Beyond Teacher/Counselor Award. Teachers/Counselors are nominated by parents and students for going "above and beyond" by giving their time and talents to help and encourage Wheeler students. The award recognizes teachers/counselors who are always willing to work hard to bring recognition to Wheeler and to support ideas which improve our school and its reputation in the community. Two teachers/counselors are selected from the nominations and receive a monetary award during Honors Night in the spring. Click here to submit a nomination for 2019.


Previous winners:

2000 - Cathie Banks and Dave Winter
2001 - Cathy Knapik and Eric Willoughby
2002 - Kelly Schaeffer and Jennifer Tumlin
2003 - Martha Jenkins and Joyce Taaffe
2004 - Cathie Banks and Shannon Center
2005 - Kathy Doyle and Russ Clayton
2006 - Andy Spinks, John Lemke, and Alana Haughaboo
2007 - SMSgt. Les Love, Mark Trachtenbroit, Sarah Wheatley
2008 - Dr. Gregg Farmer, Andrea Hawes
2009 - Al George, Jason Borcherding
2010 - Becky Fleming, Shelly Barton
2011 - Maggie Kelavkar, Julia Barry
2012 - Dr. Dawn Adams, Dr. Jimmy Carter
2013 - Christopher Shields, Julie Walls
2014 - Gerri Hajduk, Sumana Moudgal
2015 - Ray Furstein, Michael Williams, and Jeff Kent
2016 - Kamisha Polk and Nancy Williams
2017 - Edward Lawrence, Sumana Moudgal, and Dwayne Wasson
2018 - Ashley Deason and Rachel Lewis. (Special recognition to: Abby Shiffman)
2019 - Susan Phillips and Robby Nichols